Future Educators, Current Leaders and School Community Members Honored at CASDA Annual Awards Dinner

May 18, 2015

CASDA hosted its Annual Awards dinner on April 29, honoring current administrators, teachers, future educators, and friends of education with awards from the National School Development Council (NSDC), the Greater Capital Region Principals Center, the Capital District Counseling Association (CDCA), Phi Delta Kappa Foundation (PDK), and CASDA’s governing board. The dinner was attended by over 150 who came out to support their colleagues and friends.

The National Development Council presented the Cooperative Leadership Award to Dr. James Dexter. Dr. Dexter is the superintendent of WSHWE BOCES.


“This award acknowledges Dr. Dexter’s dedication to lifelong learning, encouraging staff professional development, integrating research into practice in a K-12 setting, and serving as convener on the Washington Schools Collaborative,” said CASDA Executive Director, Jim Butterworth. “He is committed to the success of his students and the school community.”


Valerie Scott, Chair of the Greater Capital Region Principals’ Center Board, presented the award for Principals of the Year. Each year, the Board accepts nominations from area school districts for the “Principal of the Year” Award. The Principals’ Center has a long history of recognizing building principals from the Greater Capital Region who have provided outstanding leadership in their districts. This year’s winners are Debra Brandt, Principal of Birchwood Elementary, Niskayuna and Nathan Farrell, Principal of Cairo-Durham Middle School.


Daniel Fogarty, president the CDCA, presented this year’s Counselor of the Year Award to Jackie Hoffman, a counselor at Chatham Middle School.


Phi Delta Kappa (PDK) Foundation members Dr. Philip Fusco and Mary Milford presented Prospective Educator Scholarship Awards to high school students Christine Bienes, New Lebanon CSD; Clarissa Hanson, Shenendehowa CSD; and, Alexis Kane, Canajoharie CSD.


The Nelson J. Armlin Scholarship, a $1,000 annual award created in the memory of the longtime educator, administrator and past CASDA Associate Director, was awarded to Amy Bolognino who is pursuing her Masters of Science in Secondary Ed (MSSE), UAlbany.


This year, CASDA introduced the Friends of Education Award. The award was created to recognize those who are considered indispensable members of their school communities. The winners display dedication and commitment that profoundly impacts the educational experience of students. The inaugural winners were Kathleen and Edward Kilmartin of Broadalbin-Perth; Bob Collen, of Menands; Christine Furstoss of Saratoga; Michelle Bienes of New Lebanon; and, Nichole Mayette of Long Lake.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

The View From Here

March 25, 2020

Please reload

Recent Posts

March 25, 2020

February 26, 2020

January 30, 2020

December 19, 2019

November 26, 2019

October 29, 2019

Please reload

Contact Us:

Visit Us:

Get Social With Us:

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
University at Albany 
1400 Washington Ave
Catskill B27
Albany, NY 12222  

© 2020 Capital Area School Development Association