CASDA’s Annual Awards Dinner to Spotlight Area Educators

April 10, 2017

 The Capital Region Annual Education Awards Dinner will be held this evening (Wednesday, April 12) at the Marriott Hotel and Conference Center in Albany, NY. This annual event hosted by CASDA recognizes educators and administrators whose tireless energy and selfless dedication are the pulse of our schools.


The 2017 ceremony will feature the Greater Capital Region Phi Delta Kappa (PDK) Prospective Educator Scholarship Awards, the Nelson J. Armlin Scholarship Award, the Capital District Counseling Association Counselor of the Year Award, the Greater Capital Region Principals’ Center Principal of the Year Award and the National School Development Council Cooperative Leadership Award. In addition to these awards handed out in previous years, CASDA is presenting for the first time awards in Excellence in District Administrator Leadership, Excellence in School Board Service and NYSPSAA’s Section 2 Athletic Director of the Year.


“We are excited to once again recognize so many talented educators who demonstrate dedication, exemplary leadership and go above and beyond to accomplish the extraordinary in our region’s school districts during this special evening,” said CASDA Executive Director Dr. James Butterworth. “It’s their commitment to the educational success of their students that make them such indispensable members of their school communities and deserving recipients of these awards.”


The following educators will be spotlighted during this evening of awards and celebrations that will include more than 150 area educators and their families in attendance:


* Excellence in District Administrator Leadership Award—Winner: 

  • Peggy O’Shea, Cohoes City School District

* Excellence in School Board Service Award—Winner: 

  • Paul Puccio, Schodack Central School District

* Capital District Counseling Association Counselor of the Year Award—Winner: 

  • Drew Colberg, The College of Saint Rose

* Greater Capital Region Principals’ Center Principal of the Year Award—Winner(s):

  • John Caporta, East Greenbush Central School District

  • Joby Gifford, Schalmont Central School District

  • Michael Paolino, City School District of Albany

* Cooperative Leadership Award on behalf of the National School Development Council—Winner: 

  • Randolph Collins, CSArch

* NYSPHSSA’s Section 2 Athletic Director of the Year Award—Winner: 

  • David Sunkes, Ballston Spa Central School District

* CASDA Service Recognition Award—Winner: 

  • Jonathan Buhner, South Colonie Central School District

* Greater Capital Region Phi Delta Kappa (PDK) Prospective Educator Scholarship Awards—Winner(s):

  • Sarina Biski, Schalmont High School

  • Matthew Davis, Colonie High School

  • Theresa Mulvey, Columbia, High School

  • Cheyenne Robinson, Cairo Durham High School

  • Mariam Sadar, Colonie High School

  • Austin Underwood, Hudson Falls High School

* Nelson J. Armlin Scholarship Award—Winner: 

  • Erin Coughlin, University at Albany/City School District of Albany

For more information on this year’s awards dinner, visit us online at

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

The 1619 Project: A Case Study in Whiteness & Educational Implications

February 25, 2020

Please reload

Recent Posts

January 30, 2020

December 19, 2019

November 26, 2019

October 29, 2019

September 26, 2019

August 19, 2019

Please reload

Contact Us:

Visit Us:

Get Social With Us:

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
University at Albany 
1400 Washington Ave
Catskill B27
Albany, NY 12222  

© 2020 Capital Area School Development Association