Capital Region Annual Awards Dinner Honors Future Educators, Current Leaders and School Community Members

May 12, 2017


CASDA hosted its Annual Capital Region Education Awards Dinner on April 12, honoring current administrators, teachers and future educators. This year's honorees represented educators from more than a dozen Capital Region districts.


The annual dinner included awards from the National School Development Council (NSDC), the Greater Capital Region Principals Center, the Capital District Counseling Association (CDCA), Phi Delta Kappa Foundation (PDK), New York State Public High School Athletic Association (NYSPHSAA) and CASDA's governing board. The dinner was attended by over 250 people who came out to support their colleagues and friends.


The National School Development Council presented the Cooperative Leadership Award to Randolph Collins of CSArch for her work supporting the school study council movement. Dan Martinelli, Chair of the Greater Capital Region Principals’ Center Board, presented the award for Principal of the Year. Each year, the Board accepts nominations from area school districts for this award. The Principals’ Center has a long history of recognizing building principals from the Greater Capital Region who have provided outstanding leadership in their districts. This year’s winner were John Caporta, East Greenbush Central School District; Joby Gifford, Schalmont Central School District; Michael Paolino, City School District of Albany.


Meghan McMahon, president the CDCA, presented this year’s Counselor of the Year Award to Drew Colberg, a counselor at The College of Saint Rose. Phi Delta Kappa (PDK) Foundation members Dr. Philip Fusco and Mary Milford presented Prospective Educator Scholarship Awards to high school students Sarina Biski, Schalmont High School; Matthew Davis, Colonie High School; Theresa Mulvey, Columbia High School; Cheyenne Robinson, Cairo Durham High School; Mariam Sadar, Colonie High School; and Austin Underwood, Hudson Falls High School.  


The Nelson J. Armlin Scholarship, a $1,000 annual award created in the memory of the longtime educator, administrator and past CASDA Associate Director, was awarded to Erin Coughlin who is pursuing his Masters of Science in Secondary Ed (MSSE) at UAlbany.


This year, CASDA also presented the first-ever NYSPHSAA Section 2 Athletic Director of the Year Award. CASDA faculty member and former Assistant Director of NYSPHSAA, Robert Stulmaker, presented the award to Ballston Spa Central School District Athletic Director David Sunkes. CASDA also introduced two new awards including the Excellence in District Administration Leadership award presented to Peggy O’Shea of Cohoes City School District and the Excellence in School Board Service Award presented to Paul Puccio of Schodack Central School District. Maria Suttmeier, chair of CASDA’s Executive Committee, recognized outgoing member, Jonathan Buhner, Superintendent of Schools of the South Colonie Central School District, for six years of outstanding service on the CASDA governing board.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

The View From Here

January 30, 2020

Please reload

Recent Posts

January 30, 2020

December 19, 2019

November 26, 2019

October 29, 2019

September 26, 2019

August 19, 2019

June 25, 2019

Please reload

Contact Us:

Visit Us:

Get Social With Us:

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
University at Albany 
1400 Washington Ave
Catskill B27
Albany, NY 12222  

© 2020 Capital Area School Development Association