Annual Education Awards

final logo red with transparent c high r
School of Education 2 pms124 and 269 Con

Great schools require the coordinated efforts of dedicated individuals serving in diverse roles to provide opportunities for students. CASDA's Annual Capital Region Education Awards recognize excellence in all corners of the school community. The following are this year's award winners:


Nelsin J. Armlin Award

Lauren Kexel, Master’s of Science in Secondary Social Studies Education program (MSSE Social Studies)
at UAlbany School of Education


NYSPHSAA, Section 2 Athletic Director of the Year Award

Michael Leonard, Director of Physical Education and Athletics
East Greenbush CSD

Greater Capital Region Principals Center Board, Principal of the Year Award

Tracy Kent, Berlin Elementary School, Berlin CSD

Melanie Welch, Frankfort-Schuyler Primary School, Frankfort-Schuyler CSD

Excellence in District Administrative Leadership Award
Dr. Gladys Cruz, District Superintendent, Questar III BOCES

Fred Hutchinson, Director of Curriculum and Instruction, Berlin CSD


Excellence in School Board Service
Roxanne Waters, Whitehall CSD

Dr. Mark Brody, Canajoharie CSD

Muriel Faxon, Chatham CSD

NSDC Cooperative Leadership Award

James P. Dexter - WSWHE BOCES District Superintendent