The Principals' Center

Established in 1985, the Principals’ Center exists to help principals meet the challenges of their role as school leaders and provides a forum for them to meet in a congenial atmosphere and share the skills and practices that have proven successful in the school setting.

The Greater Capital Region Principals’ Center is a dynamic professional resource for area administrators, designed as an oasis of training for improvement and renewal of administrative skills and energies. 

 

Established in 1985, the Principals’ Center exists to help principals meet the challenges of their role as school leaders and provides a forum for them to meet in a congenial atmosphere and share the skills and practices that have proven successful in the school setting. By bringing together new and veteran administrators, the Principals’ Center can help develop and improve on those critical skills needed for effective leadership, including problem solving, decision making, managing resources, and leading by example.

 

The Principals’ Center serves principals specifically, and administrative groups in general.  It is a network for tapping professional knowledge so that the exceptional strengths of those principals in the field practicing daily can be utilized as resources to help and aid others working in the profession. 

 

The programs of the Principals’ Center are run to benefit principals, and, in large part, are run by principals.  The Principals’ Center works to strengthen the variety of skills a principal needs to effectively master in order to meet the challenges of the principalship and seeks to establish itself as a catalyst for establishing excellence in those individuals who carry the title “Principal.”

2020-2021 Principals' Center Board Roster

 

Gregory Pace, Chair

Principal, Tesago Elementary School

pacegreg@shenet.org

Michael Laster, Vice-Chair

Principal, Farnsworth Middle School
lasterm@guilderlandschools.net

Ron Agostinoni

Principal, Shenendehowa High School

AgosRon@shenet.org

Mark Brenneman

Principal, Montgomery C. Smith Elementary  

brennemanm@hudsconcsd.org

Jasmine Brown

Principal, Giffen Memorial Elementary School

jbrown@albany.k12.ny.us

Danielle Cox

Principal, St. Pius X School

dcox@stpius-x.com

Joby Gifford

Principal, Jefferson Elementary
jgifford@sabrenet.net

Malik Jones

Principal, Karigon Elementary School 
jonemali@shenet.org

Dan Martinelli, (Past Chair)

Principal, Cohoes Middle School
dmartine@cohoes.org

Barbara Messier

Principal, Lake Avenue Elementay School
b_messier@saratogaschools.org

Michael Paolino

Principal, Hackett Middle School
mpaolino@albany.k12.ny.us

Brian Reeve  (Past Chair)                               

Principal, Greenville Central School District

reeveb@greenville.csd.org

Erica J. Ryan                                           

Principal, Shatekon Elementary School

ryaneric@shenschools.org

Central Office Administrators

Timothy Backus

Assistant Superintendent for Instruction, South Colonie Central Schools

backust@scolonie.org

Retired Administrators

John Caporta (17-18)

Principal, Red Mill Elementary (retired 2019) 

bayberry6@gmail.com

Timothy Dawkins

Assistant Superintendent, South Glens Falls Central School District

dawkinst@sgfcsd.org

Higher Education Representative

Dr. Alan Wagner

UAlbany Department of Educational Administration and Policy Studies

awagner@albany.edu

Jim Butterworth

Dept of Educational Policy and Leadership

University at Albany, ED 342

jbutterworth@albany.edu

CASDA Representatives

Michael Piccirillo

Executive Director 

mpiccirillo@casdany.org

Nancy Andress

CASDA Faculty, Liason to Principal Center Board 
nandress@albany.edu

Susan Tangorre

CASDA Faculty Member

stangorre@casdany.org

University at Albany, 1400 Washington Ave
Catskill B27, Albany, NY 12222  

518.442.5045

© 2020 Capital Area School Development Association 

Privacy Policy  

School-of-Education-Signature-pms124-pms